Types of Weapons

A permit to carry allows a person to carry "dangerous weapons," which is an instrument or device designed primarily for use in inflicting death or injury on persons or animals or is capable of or used in such a manner as to inflict death upon persons. This generally includes:

  • Handguns
  • Knives with blades longer than five inches
  • Rifles
  • Shot guns
  • Taser-type devices

Weapons Not Covered by the Permit

The permit does not allow a person to carry "offensive weapons" which are things like:

  • Ballistic knives
  • Bombs
  • Flamethrowers
  • Grenades
  • Machine guns
  • Mines
  • Missiles
  • Rockets
  • Short-barreled rifles or shot guns
  • Silencers
  • Weapons with a barrel length larger than 6/10 of an inch