Dubuque County Sheriff
Sex Offenders Registry
Find the Iowa Sex Offender Registry at
Sex Offender Registery Information has changed as of July 2009. Check back for updated information or call the Dubuque County Sheriff's Office @ 563-589-4406. Last updated:08/06/2009
1. Persons Required to Register
- Applies to adults convicted on or after July 1, 1995, of specific crimes.
- Applies to people in the corrections systems previously convicted of a covered crime who are released on or after July 1, 1995.
- Juveniles who are adjudicated delinquent due to committing one of the covered crimes. Registration required unless waived by court.
- Persons found not guilty by reason of insanity of one of the covered crimes.
2. Offenses that require registration. This includes committed and attempted offenses and offenses committed in other states.
A. Crimes Against Minors
- Kidnapping of a minor, except for kidnapping of a minor in the third degree committed by a parent
- False imprisonment of a minor, except when committed by a parent
- Any public offense involving sexual conduct toward a minor
- Solicitation of a minor to engage in an illegal sex act
- Use of a minor in a sexual performance
- Solicitation of a minor to practice prostitution
- Any public offense against a minor involving a sexual contact with the minor
- Dissemination and exhibition of obscene material to minors
- Admitting minors to premises where obscene material is exhibited
B. Sexually Violent Offenses
- Any sexual abuse
- Assault with intent to commit sexual abuse
- Sexual misconduct with offenders
- Murder, kidnapping, or burglary involving sexual abuse - Any offenses such as these that were committed in another state
C. Sexual Exploitation
- Sexual exploitation by a counselor or therapist
3. Duration of Registration
- Ten years for commencing from the date of last placement on probation, parole, work release, or release from custody.
4. Registration Process
- Notice of duty to register
- Initial registration
- Change of address
- Annual verification of address
- Application for determination of requirement to register if offender questions their registration requirement
5. Sheriffs' Fees
- The Sheriff may collect a $10 fee for each registration or change of address form that is completed by the offender.
- If the offender is unable to pay the $10 fee, the Sheriff may give the person time to pay, permit payment installments, or may waive the fee entirely.
- No provision is made in the law to charge the public for requests for information.
6. Annual verification of address
- Process is established to verify the offenders address annually.
- A non-forwardable letter is sent by the Department of Public Safety to the offender at the last stated address during the month of the anniversary date of initial registration.
- Sexually Violent Predators who have moved into Iowa are verified every three months.
7. Information on the registration
- Social Security Number
- Phone number
- Additional relevant material including, but not limited to, fingerprints and photographs
8. Sex Offender Registry Fund Established
- Fund is established by placing a $200 civil penalty on the crimes covered by this chapter in order to help pay the administrative costs experienced by the Department of Public Safety and to fund research and analysis.For more information contact:
9. Access to Information in the Registry
- The Sheriff or Department of Public Safety may release information to criminal justice agencies for law enforcement purposes.
- The Department of Public Safety may disclose information to government agencies which are conducting confidential background investigations.
- The Department of Public Safety or a criminal justice agency with case specific authorization from the Department may release relevant information that is necessary to protect the public concerning a specific offender.
- Non-identilying information may be used for bona fide research.
- Information on the registry may be used by criminal justice agencies as an index to locate a relevant criminal conviction record.
- Upon inquiry, the Sheriff may release information to a member of the general public regarding a specific person on the registry. This release occurs after a member of the general public makes a case specific, written request for the information.
10. Penalties for Failure to Register
- 1st offense is an aggravated misdemeanor
- 2nd offense is a Class "D" felony
- If failed to register and commits another offense, the penalty is a Class "C" felony
- Any failure to register while on probation, parole, or work release results in an automatic revocation of probation, parole, or work release.
Sex Offender Registry Program
Division of Criminal Investigation
The Dubuque County Sheriff's Office is responsible for the detention and extradition of prisoners wanted by other jurisdictions and to detain and transport prisoners held in other jurisdictions which are wanted by Dubuque County and other law enforcement agencies within Dubuque County.
If a subject is detained they have a choice to waive extradition to another state or fight extradition. If a subject fights extradition, the state that wants them, has to obtain a govenors warrant which forces their extradition. The time a subject spending fighting extradition is known as dead time and does not count towards any time they may face in the jurisdiction that wants them.